Each year, the PNS presents six named lectures and provides a $750 USD prize to seven Junior Members (40 years of age and younger) presenting abstracts, as a tribute to luminaries in our field. The late Professor Richard P. Bunge, Professor Arthur K. Asbury, Professor Peter J. Dyck, the late P.K. Thomas, Jonathan Pembroke, the late Professor J.W. Griffin, and Richard A.C Hughes. Being chosen as a plenary speaker, or prize winner is considered an honor and commemorates the contributions of previous leaders in the industry.

Additionally, the PNS presents annually the Alan J Gebhart prize for excellence in peripheral nerve research. This $30,000 unrestricted cash prize is awarded to an established researcher in the field of peripheral nerve.  The prize recipient must be an active member of the PNS in good financial standing for a minimum of two years. Click here to view the application form.  The application deadline is 6 March 2020.

Richard P. Bunge Lecture - Biology of Nerve (Established 1997) 

1997: Mary B. Bunge
1999: Tony L. Yaksh
2001: Steven S. Scherer
2003: Gordan Lundborg
2005: Hugh J. Willison
2007: Ueli Suter

2009: James L. Salzer
2011: Marc Tessier- Lavigne
2013: Kristjan R. Jessen
2015: Matthew Rasband
2017: Elior (Ori) Peles
2018: Erika Holzbaur
2019: Alison Lloyd






Peter J. Dyck Lecture - Diabetes and Clinical Topics (Established 2013) 


2013: Roy Freeman
2015: David Bennett
2017: Gary Lewin
2018: Peter McNaughton
2019: Jan Geert Biessels








Arthur K. Asbury Lecture - GBS/CIDP/Inflammatory Neuropathy (Established 2017)

2017: Isabella Ilya
2018: Kevin O'Connor
2019: Giuseppe Lauria


P.K. Thomas Lecture - Inherited Neuropathies (Established 2011)

2011: Vincent Timmerman
2013: Steven S. Scherer
2015: Bart C. Jacobs
2017: Michael Coleman
2018: Alessandra Bolino
2019: David Adams


J.W. Griffin Lecture - Regeneration (Established 2011)

2011: Clifford Woolf
2013: Patricia J. Armati
2015: Kelly Monk
2017: Jeff Milbrandt
2018: David Parkinson
2019: Valeria Cavalli


Jonathan Pembroke Lecture - Awarded to participants from Australia-Asia (Established 2017)

2017: James J. Sejvar
2018: Craig Blackstone
2019: Massimo Zeviani







Richard A.C. Hughes Prize - Clinical Trials (Established 2019)












Prize Winners


  • Arthur K. Asbury Prize: Stephen Keddie
  • Richard P. Bunge Prize: Federica Grandi
  • Peter J. Dyck Prize: Raiza Bonomo
  • J.W. Griffin Prize: Anthony Cirrincione
  • P.K. Thomas Prize: Andrea Cortese
  • Jonathan Pembroke Prize: Gonzalo Perez Siles
  • Richard A.C. Hughes Prize: Christa Walgaard
  • Alan J. Gebhart Prize: Eva Feldman & Douglas Zochodne


  • Arthur K. Asbury Prize: Divyanshu Dubey
  • Richard P. Bunge Prize: Charlotte Sumner
  • Peter J. Dyck Prize: Krish Chandrasekaran
  • J.W. Griffin Prize: Thomas Brushart
  • P.K. Thomas Prize: Yueqin Zhou
  • Jonathan Pembroke Prize: Sung- Tsang Hseih
  • Alan J. Gebhart Prize: Richard A.C. Hughes


  • Arthur K. Asbury Prize: Rhona McGonigal
  • Richard P. Bunge Prize: Marta Pellegata
  • Peter J. Dyck Prize: Andreas Themistoleow
  • J.W. Griffin Prize: Jorge Galino
  • P.K. Thomas Prize: Dana Bis
  • Jonathan Pembroke Prize: Haruki Koike
  • Alan J. Gebhart Prize: Susumu Kusunoki


  • Arthur K. Asbury Prize: R. Huizinga
  • Richard P. Bunge Prize:
  • Peter J. Dyck Prize: L. Van Helleputte
  • J.W. Griffin Prize:  M. Kaller
  • P.K. Thomas Prize: S. Carmona
  • Jonathan Pembroke Prize: Z. Li
  • Alan J. Gebhart Prize: Steven Scherer and Hugh Willison

Thank you to our 2019 PNS Sponsors!