Each year the PNS presents five named lectures and provides a $750 prize to six Junior Members (40 years of age and younger) presenting abstracts as a tribute to luminaries in our field. The late Professor RP Bunge, Professor AK Asbury, Professor PJ Dyck, the late PK Thomas, Jonathan Pembroke, and the late Professor JW Griffin. This year the PNS has added a seventh named lecture award in honor of Professor Richard A.C. Hughes.

Being chosen as a Plenary Speaker, or award winner is considered an honor and commemorates the contributions of previous leaders in the industry. 

Alan J. Gebhart Prize will be announced at a later date. 

Richard P. Bunge Lecture- Biology of Nerve (Established in 1997) 

1997: Mary B. Bunge
1999: Tony L. Yaksh
2001: Steven S. Scherer
2003: Gordan Lundborg
2005: Hugh J. Willison
2007: Ueli Suter

2009: James L. Salzer
2011: Marc Tessier- Lavigne
2013: Kristjan R. Jessen
2015: Matthew Rasband
2017: Elior (Ori) Peles
2018: Erika Holzbaur






The Peter J. Dyck Lecture- Diabetes and Clinical Topics (Established in 2015) 

2015: David Bennett
2017: Gary Lewin
2018: Peter McNaughton









Arthur K. Asbury Lecture- GBS/ CIDP/ Inflammatory Neuropathy (Established in 2017)

2017: Isabella Ilya
2018: Kevin O'Connor


P.K. Thomas Lecture- Inherited Neuropathies (Established in 2011) 

2011: Vincent Timmerman
2013: Steven S. Scherer
2015: Bart C. Jacobs
2017: Michael Coleman
2018: Alessandra Bolino


The JW Griffin Lecture- Regeneration (Established in 2011)

2011: Clifford Woolf
2013: Patricia J. Armati
2015: Kelly Monk
2017: Jeff Milbrandt
2018: David Parkinson


The Jonathan Pembroke Lecture- Awarded to Participants in Australia-Asia 

2017: James J Sejvar
2018: Craig Blackstone







New This Year: The Professor Richard A.C. Hughes Award- Awarded to Clinical Trials Abstracts & Topics




Previous Prize Winners


  • 2018 Arthur K. Asbury Award|: Divyanshu Dubey
  • 2018 Bunge Award: Charlotte Sumner
  • 2018 Peter: James Dyck Award: Krish Chandrasekaran
  • 2018 John W. Griffin Award: Thomas Brushart
  • 2018 P.K. Thomas Award: Yueqin Zhou
  • 2018 Pembroke Award Winner: Sung- Tsang Hseih
  • 2018 Alan J. Gebhart Prize: Richard A.C. Hughes


  • 2017 Arthur K. Asbury Award: Rhona McGonigal
  • 2017 Bunge Award: Marta Pellegata
  • 2017 Peter: James Dyck Award: Andreas Themistoleow
  • 2017 John W. Griffin Award: Jorge Galino
  • 2017 P.K. Thomas Award: Dana Bis
  • 2017 Pembroke Award Winner: Haruki Koike.
  • 2017 Alan J. Gebhart Prize: Susumu Kusunoki
image widget
Facebook Twitter