1111111111

Webinars

The PNS sponsors many educational webinars throughout the year, which are organized and presented by the Society’s five Special Interest Groups (SIGs) and various Committees. Webinars are recorded and available to members in the On-Demand Education Center after they occur live.

Webinar Rates

PNS Member: FREE
Includes access to live webinar and On-Demand recording.
Non-Member: $50 USD
Includes access to live webinar only.

Not yet a member? Learn more about the benefits of membership here.

 

Upcoming Educational Webinars

High-Frequency Spinal Cord Stimulation for Painful Diabetic Neuropathy

Friday, 3 February 2023

Friday, 3 February 2023

09.00 PST • 10.00 CST • 11.00 EST • 16.00 GMT • 17.00 CET • 01.00 JST (4 Feb) • 03.00 AEDT (4 Feb)

New advances in high-frequency spinal cord stimulation (SCS) are emerging for the use of painful diabetic neuropathy (PDN). Led by Dr. Erika Peterson, these studies are showing promise as a new approach for patients suffering from painful diabetic neuropathy. Dr. Petersen will present her research efforts using high-frequency stimulation in clinical trials to provide pain relief and improved health-related quality of life. This research suggests that SCS can safely and effectively aid patients with refractory PDN.


Erika Petersen,MD,
Department of Neurosurgery, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Little Rock, AR, USA

Erika Petersen, MD, FAANS, FACS, Department of Neurosurgery, directs the Section of Functional and Restorative Neurosurgery at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. She is a Professor in the Department of Neurosurgery at UAMS and directs the neurosurgery residency program. Dr. Petersen is a board-certified neurosurgeon whose clinical practice focuses on neuromodulation, treating movement disorders, spasticity, and chronic pain through surgical procedures and stereotactic radiosurgery. Her research focuses on developing new devices, indications, and methods for treating chronic pain using deep brain stimulation and neuromodulation. Dr. Petersen attended Princeton University and received her medical degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She trained in neurosurgery at the University of Texas Southwestern with a fellowship in deep brain stimulation at the National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery in London. She has authored numerous articles and book chapters on stereotactic and functional neurosurgery and neuroscience.

Chair:


Douglas Wright, PhD, University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City, KS, USA

Past Webinars

2022

  • TNC Webinar: Reverse Translational Approaches to Understand Chemotherapy-Induced Peripheral Neuropathy
  • IDNC Webinar: Updates on Diabetic Lumbosacral Radiculoplexus Neuropathy
  • CMTR Webinar: Gene Therapy Developments for CMT Neuropathies
  • TNC Webinar: Research on Exercise for the Prevention and Treatment of CIPN

2021

  • TNC Webinar: Methods in CIPN Assessment: Bench and Bedside Issues
  • NPC Webinar: Why do some people with neuropathy get pain and others do not despite similar neuropathy?
  • IDNC Webinar: Potential Targets of the Treatment of Diabetic Neuropathy
  • INC Webinar: 2021 EAN/PNS Guideline on Diagnosis and Treatment of CIDP
  • TNC Webinar: Programmed Axon Degeneration
  • PNS Educational Webinar: Pandemics, COVID, Vaccination and GBS
  • CMTR Webinar: Developing Treatment for CMT/dSMA Patients with TRPV4 Mutations
  • TNC Webinar: Regulation of Cell Surface Proteins in Models of CIPN/Predictors of Paclitaxel-Induced Peripheral Neuropathy in Patients with Breast Cancer


Why Join the PNS?