Peripheral Nerve Society - 2023 Annual Meeting

17 - 20 June 2023

Catherine Faivre-Sarrailh, PhD

Catherine Faivre-Sarrailh, PhD

Aix Marseille Université-INSERM Institut de Neurobiologie de la Méditerranée, Marseille, France

The Assembly of the Node of Ranvier in Response to Myelination

Catherine Faivre-Sarrailh is Director of research at CNRS. She received her Doctoral thesis at the University of Montpellier working on the neuronal cytoskeleton. Next, she joined Geneviève Rougon’s lab in Marseille to study the role of cell adhesion molecules in axonal guidance. From 2002, she established her lab with research interests on axo-glial junctions both in mice and Drosophila. In 2018, she joined the INMED Marseille-Luminy to analyze the role of cell adhesion molecules in controlling the axonal targeting of ion channels, particularly at the axon initial segment and nodes of Ranvier. She focuses on molecules associated with Kv1 channels, like Caspr2, Contactin2, and LGI1, which are targeted in autoimmune and genetic neurological diseases associated with hyperexcitability.


Nanna Brix Finnerup, MD, PhD

Nanna Brix Finnerup, MD, PhD

Aarhus University, Aarhus, Denmark

Treatment Approach for Painful Neuropathy

Nanna Brix Finnerup, MD, DrMedSc, is Professor and head of the Danish Pain Research Center, Department of Clinical Medicine, Aarhus University, Denmark.

Prof. Finnerup has authored more than 200 peer-reviewed papers. Her main research interest is the pathophysiology and therapy of neuropathic pain. Current research areas include painful chemotherapy and diabetic polyneuropathy, postsurgical neuropathic pain, spinal cord injury pain, cerebral palsy, neurophysiological and molecular assessment of pain mechanisms, neuropharmacology, stratified clinical trials, and systematic reviews. Prof. Finnerup is section editor of the journal Pain and past-chair of NeuPSIG, the neuropathic pain SIG of IASP, and past president of the Scandinavian Association for the Study of pain (SASP).

Christopher Gibbons,  MD, MMSc

Christopher Gibbons, MD, MMSc

Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA, USA

Treatment Induced Neuropathy of Diabetes

Christopher Gibbons is an Associate Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School and on staff at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and Joslin Diabetes Center in Boston, Massachusetts. Dr. Gibbons is the director of the Joslin Diabetes Center neuropathy clinic and is director of the Neurocutaneous skin biopsy lab at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center.

Dr. Gibbons is actively engaged in clinical/translational research and has published extensively on peripheral and autonomic neuropathies. His current areas of research include: 1) developing a novel biomarker for neurodegenerative disorders by measuring alpha-synuclein within cutaneous autonomic nerve fibers and 2) defining the mechanisms and pathophysiology underlying the development of treatment induced neuropathy of diabetes – an iatrogenic painful autonomic neuropathy associated with aggressive treatment of diabetes.

Alexia Kagiava, PhD

Alexia Kagiava, PhD

The Cyprus Institute of Neurology and Genetics, Nicosia, Cyprus

CMTX: Clinical to Basic Biology

Dr Kagiava received her BSc in Biology from Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece, in 2005 and her PhD in Neurophysiology from the same University in 2011. She is currently an Associate Scientist and Faculty Member in the Neuroscience Department of The Cyprus Institute of Neurology and Genetics. She has developed in the last 10 years innovative approaches with different delivery methods for cell-targeted gene therapy to treat demyelinating CMT neuropathies using lentiviral or AAV vectors. Dr. Kagiava received the Cyprus National Young Scientist Award in 2016. Her research has been funded by National and International Organizations and she has over 30 peer-reviewed publications.


Simon Rinaldi, MBChB, PhD

Simon Rinaldi, MBChB, PhD

University of Oxford, Oxford, UK

Emerging Pathology and Potential for Treatments in GBS

A/Prof Simon Rinaldi was a medical undergraduate and postgraduate general medical trainee in Manchester. He moved to the University of Glasgow in 2007 to undertake a PhD looking into the neuroimmunology of inflammatory peripheral nerve disease, supervised by Professor Hugh Willison. Following 2 years of clinical neurology training in the East of Scotland, he was appointed as an NIHR Clinical Lecturer in Neurology at the University of Oxford in March 2012. During his lectureship he developed models of immune mediated axonal injury and demyelination using human induced pluripotent stem cells. He was then awarded an MRC Clinician Scientist Fellowship to identify antibodies responsible for the acute and chronic inflammatory neuropathies and to delineate their pathogenic mechanisms.

Grace Shin, PhD

Grace Shin, PhD

Columbia University, New York, NY, USA

Basic Mechanisms of Pain: New Developments

Dr. Grace Shin obtained her Ph.D. at the University of Queensland, Australia, and joined Dr. Sean Millard’s laboratory to study how alternative splicing of Dscam2 plays a role in neuronal wiring. After a productive first postdoc, she joined Dr. Wes Grueber’s lab at Columbia University to pursue her interest in understanding the etiology of pathological conditions in pain-sensing neurons. Dr. Shin’s research uses a multi-model approach to investigate cellular and molecular mechanisms of pathology and prevention mechanisms of peripheral sensory neuropathy, focusing on CIPN. Dr. Shin’s ongoing work focuses on understanding how sensory neurons interact with their local environment in the periphery and how their interactions may drive the pathological progression of peripheral sensory neuropathy.

Rocio Vazquez Do Campo, MD

Rocio Vazquez Do Campo, MD

The University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham, AL, USA

Approach to Laboratory and Neurophysiological Testing in Peripheral Neuropathy

I graduated from the University of Santiago de Compostela in Spain and moved to the United States in 2013 to join the Neurology residency program at Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida. I completed a Clinical Neurophysiology-EMG fellowship followed by a Neuromuscular Disorders-Peripheral Nerve fellowship at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. I am currently an Assistant Professor of Neurology at the University of Alabama at Birmingham with expertise in neuromuscular disorders, clinical neurophysiology-EMG, and autonomic disorders. I also serve as a member of the Clinical Neurophysiology committee for the American Board of Psychiatry & Neurology and was awarded with the A.B. Baker Teacher Recognition award by the American Academy of Neurology in 2022.


PNS Executive Office:
1935 County Road B2 W · Suite 165 | Roseville, MN 55113 USA | +1.952.545.6284 | Management services provided by Global Management Partners. As a result of General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service have been updated to better explain our relationship with you. If you wish to opt in/out of receiving PNS communication, please update your Member Profile. 2022 Peripheral Nerve Society. All Rights Reserved.
Site by The Lone Designer | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Cookie Policy
Facebook Twitter