The Peripheral Nerve Society is an international organization of physicians and scientists working together to develop and provide the best treatments for people who have peripheral nerve diseases. This goal is realized by cooperation - supporting research, training scientists and healthcare professionals, setting standards of care, creating new treatments, and facilitating clinical trials.

The Peripheral Nerve Society was founded in 1994, having evolved from two groups of academic investigators interested in understanding the basic biology and function of the peripheral nervous system - the nature of nerve injury and repair. These groups met periodically in closed meetings to discuss advances in this understanding and how this knowledge might be applied to care for patients with genetic, traumatic, toxic, or metabolic nerve disease. The interests of our members encompass all aspects of the peripheral nervous system, both clinical and scientific, and range from electrophysiologic tools for diagnosis to molecular mechanisms of disease and nerve fiber regeneration. The Society is incorporated, and open to general membership by those interested in the peripheral nervous system and its diseases.

DOWNLOAD application for PNS MEMBERSHIP. Complete the application form and fax to the Executive Secretary.

Inflammatory Neuropathy Consortium 
The INC is a Standing Committee of the PNS with scheduled meetings and specific goals for education, treatment and research of the inflammatory neuropathies. 
International Inflammatory Neuropathy Consortium


ANNOUNCEMENT from the Peripheral Nerve Society


The Board of the Peripheral Nerve Society is proud to announce that at the 2015 Meeting in Quebec City, Canada, the Alan J. Gebhart - Peripheral Nerve Society Prize for Excellence in Peripheral Nerve Research will be given for the first time. This Prize will be given to an established researcher in the field of peripheral nerve. The Awardee must be a member of the PNS in good standing for at least 2 (two) years. The amount of the Prize is US $50,000 to be used at the discretion of the Awardee.  The Board has created a Prize Committee who will select the winner. 

Applications (click here for application form) should include 1 complete set of the following materials: Completed application form, Current curriculum vitae with 10 papers most relevant to the Prize highlighted, and Letters from two colleagues either summarizing applicant's body of work including: relevant background material, research accomplishments placed in context and assessment of the direct or indirect impact of contributions to the understanding of PNS diseases Or describing the focus of the applicant's research program, the independent contributions made by the applicant in the field of peripheral nerve, and reasons why the applicant should receive the Prize. The application deadline is 1 March 2015.

The Prize will be presented at the Gala Dinner on Tuesday 30 June 2015 during the PNS 2015 meeting in Quebec City, Canada. The Awardee will give a 20 minute address during the meeting highlighting the research.


PNS 2015 Quebec City, Canada 27 June 2015 - 1 July 2015

INC 2016 University of Glasgow Scotland including the ‘GBS 100’ Centenary Symposium and Ceilidh 21-25 June 2016


The GBS|CIDP Foundation International announces the first recipient of the Benson Fellowship to fund a Peripheral Inflammatory Neuropathy Fellowship

NARBERTH, Pa., Nov. 11, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- The GBS|CIDP Foundation International has announced the recipient of the first Benson Fellowship. This year’s winner is Dr. Ruth Huizinga, from Rotterdam, The Netherlands. Ruth presented her project, “High innate responsiveness to microbial triggers predisposing to the Guillain- Barré’ syndrome: identification of genetic casual variants” at the Foundation’s 13th International Symposium. She was recommended by the Foundation’s Medical Advisory Board and was unanimously selected by the Board of Directors for this prestigious award.

The Fellowship awards up to $150,000 per year for up to three years to fund peripheral inflammatory neuropathy research. The grant was established in honor of Robert Benson, a survivor of Guillain-Barre' syndrome, and his wife Estelle Benson.